Assemblymember Holden Recognizes University of La Verne’s, Dr. Devorah Lieberman as Woman of the Year for 41st Assembly District

For immediate release:

Sacramento, CA – As part of an annual recognition of Women’s History Month in the State Capitol, Assemblymember Chris Holden announces the University of La Verne President, and first woman president, Dr. Devorah Lieberman as the 41st Assembly District’s Woman of the Year. 

“I am thrilled to have Dr. Devorah Lieberman as Woman of the Year for the 41st Assembly District,” said Assemblymember Holden. “She has contributed to the well-being of the university’s students, the scholarly activity of the faculty, and the vitality of the surrounding community while also advocating for engagement, inclusivity, and respect among all.”

Dr. Devorah Lieberman, the University of La Verne’s 18th and first female president, brings more than three decades of higher education experience, scholarship, and leadership to the institution. Among Ms. Lieberman’s accomplishments are raising $128 million in the largest comprehensive campaign in the university’s history; significantly increasing funding for student scholarships; expanding the international student population; increasing the number of named colleges, endowed deans, and endowed faculty positions; and, significantly increasing the institutional endowment from $36 million to $151 million. Under Lieberman’s leadership, the university launched the La Verne Experience, a curriculum where students connect deeply with each other, with faculty, with staff, and with the greater community. Through the La Verne Experience, students “major in a mission”. Currently, she is leading the university’s establishment of a College Health and Community Well Being to help address the region’s critical need for healthcare professionals.

Women of Distinction from throughout the district include Veronica Jones, Town Council Member (Altadena), Terry Grill, Director of Sustainability for Sealed Air Corporation (Claremont), Caroline Anderson, LCF School Board Member (La Cañada Flintridge), Cynthia Cannady, Attorney and Community Advocate (Pasadena), Lois Gaston, Community Advocate (Monrovia), Jennifer Oglesby, Founder Community Services of America, (Rancho Cucamonga), Kris Boneman, Director of Educational Tech for Bonita Unified School District (San Dimas), Julie Bencosme, Small Business Owner & Community Volunteer (Sierra Madre), and Linda Clinton, Community Volunteer (Upland), and Desirea Haggard, Director of Environmental Affairs at CalPortland (Pinon Hills).  Over 100 nominations were sent to Assemblymember Holden for the honor.

“The 2023 Women of Distinction are dedicated leaders who improve the lives for thousands of individuals and families in the 41st Assembly District and beyond,” said Holden. “Their commitment to excellence and service has left an indelible mark on the San Gabriel Valley and the people who call it home.”