Assemblymember Chris Holden Named to Prestigious Leadership Position as Majority Floor Leader

Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Sacramento - Today, Speaker of the California Assembly Toni G. Atkins announced the members of the Democratic Caucus leadership team for the 2015-16 legislative session.   Assemblymember Chris Holden (D-Pasadena) has been appointed Assembly Majority Floor Leader;  The Majority Floor Leader represents the Speaker on the Floor and expedites Assembly floor proceedings.   Holden previously served as Majority Whip under Speaker Emeritus John A. Perez and as Assistant Majority Leader.  He was first elected in 2012.

“I am deeply honored to be appointed Majority Leader of the California State Assembly. I appreciate Speaker Atkin’s trust in me.  Great progress has been made in balancing our state's budget, protecting our state's business climate, and investing in California's future through education. However, great challenges await us this session as Californians face staggering underemployment, underperforming schools, and housing unaffordability. I look forward to working with my colleagues on both sides of the aisle to improve wage growth, early childhood education, and ensuring that homeownership remains an attainable American Dream.”